九只苍蝇撞墙:酷儿文化给人类一个思考世界的新鲜角度

九只苍蝇撞墙:酷儿文化给人类一个思考世界的新鲜角度

上海电影节选片人之一的“九只苍蝇撞墙”来到SHQFF了,担任本次酷儿影展短片竞赛单元的评委之一。他曾是九十年代传奇的《戏剧电影报:环球综艺》的创始人之一,有近二十年评论各种专业电影和进行行业分析的经历,他也是中国最早一批民间影评人。常年在世界各国看电影,2015年曾担任First青年影展的复审评委、2016年和2017年上海电影节选片人。熟悉艺术电影的创作模式和市场运作,对各大电影节都有自己独到的见解和看法。

我们和他简单聊了聊所谓“酷儿电影”、“酷儿文化”等到底是什么。


 

您觉得亚洲的酷儿电影与世界其他地区的酷儿电影的差异和区别有哪些?

西方酷儿电影历史悠久。在酷儿这个词诞生之前,带有酷儿倾向的电影作品和影人就出现在好莱坞和欧洲电影中,“酷儿”一词可以说是总结了这些电影的共同性,于是形成了这样的影片内容题材和风格流派。
而亚洲酷儿电影因为大环境的限制所以历史比较短,题材也略微单一,风格较为拘谨。但从另一个方面看,亚洲酷儿电影具有东方特点时而温婉、时而豪放的特殊表现形式,这也是西方酷儿文化所不具备的情感和人文特色。

 

作为在文艺青年中有广泛拥趸的资深影评人,您对于三大电影节现在都专门开辟了”酷儿“单元这件事如何看待?

酷儿”这个概念在西方已经成为电影研究领域中的专有门类,许多酷儿电影课程和研究早已相继问世,酷儿电影已经形成了一种特殊的美学风格,它的表达方式、画面和声响的创造模式,甚至电影的叙述结构都和其他类型的电影产生了一些区别,我们甚至可以说它形成了一种新的广义上的类型电影。
艺术电影节的职责和功能之一就是发掘电影的新潮流和趋势,酷儿电影具有在电影美学,内容思想上的潜力和独特的吸引力,也正是世界艺术电影的发展方向之一,所以显然三大电影节对其有特别关注不无道理。而且,设立“酷儿”单元也体现了它们对于酷儿人群和文化的一种社会人文关怀。

 

您是在法国学习电影的,法国的米歇尔.福柯的很多观念是对”酷儿理论“的有力支撑,您如何看待酷儿问题?

我觉得福柯之所以在思想史和哲学研究上独辟蹊径,很大程度上得益于他与众不同的性取向和性体验。性取向让我们停留在一个单一的社会意识框架中,形成了某种固定的视角。而不同的性取向在很多时候可以给人崭新的视角,这样感性的体验和福柯丰富大胆的理性思维结合他本人学术素养,造就了他思想体系的发展基础。
所以酷儿文化的意义也在于给人类一个思考、感受和体验世界的新鲜角度,让我们对自身有一个不同于以往的审视和体验生活的可能性。这也许不仅仅是感性上的感受,更是有启发性的理性思维方向。福柯在他的理论中所拓展出的对于历史、知识、社会以及性本身的崭新认知也正体现了这一点。

Queer culture provides humanity with a fresh perspective

Queer culture provides humanity with a fresh perspective

“Jiuzhicangyingzhuangqiang(Nine flies hitting the wall)”, one of Shanghai Film Festival film curators, came to SHQFF as a judge for the Short Film Competition Unit. He was one of the founders of Drama and Film Newspaper: Global Variety, a legendary newspaper in the 1990s. With nearly two decades of experience in professional film criticism and industry analysis, he is also one of the first folk film critics in China. Throughout the year, he travels the world to watch films. In the past, he was a second-round judge in the 2015 FIRST International Film Festival and film curator in both the 2016 and 2017 Shanghai Film Festival. He is familiar with the creating methods and market operation of art films and has his own unique insights and views toward major film festivals.

SHQFF had a chat him on the definitions of so-called “queer cinema” and “queer culture”.


 

In your opinion, what’s the difference between the queer films in Asia and those in the rest of the world?

Western queer cinema has a long history. Before the term “queer” was born, there were films with queer tendencies appearing in Hollywood and Europe. The term “queer” can be used to sum up the commonality of these films. Thus, films with such content, themes, and genres were formed.

Due to the limitations of a broad environment, Asian queer cinema has a relatively short history, and they are quite simplex in content and themes and more cautious in style and genre. However, on the other hand, Asian queer films have special forms of expression found in eastern culture: sometimes gentle and graceful, sometimes bold and unconstrained. These are also emotions and cultural characteristics which are not found in western queer culture.

 

As a senior film critic with a wide range of fans among “literary and artistic” youth, what’s your point of view on the establishment of the queer division in these three major film festivals?

The concept of “queer” in the west has become a proprietary field of film research, with many queer film courses being developed and much research being done. Queer cinema has formed a special aesthetic style; its expression, creation patterns of frames and sounds, and even narrative structure are a bit different from other types of film. We can even say that it a new type of film in a general sense.

One of the duties and functions of an art film festival is to explore the new tides and trends of cinema. The content of queer cinema has potential and unique attraction in film aesthetics, which is one of the directions of global art film development. Therefore, it obviously makes sense that the three major film festivals show interest towards queer films. Moreover, the establishment of a queer division also reflects their social and cultural concern for queer groups and queer culture.

 

You are currently studying film in France. The French academic Michelle Foucault has many concepts that could strongly support “queer theory”. How do you think about queer topics?

The reason why Foucault’s study on intellectual history and philosophy is innovative largely relates to his unique sexual orientation and sexual experiences. Sexual orientation allows us to stay in a single framework of social consciousness, forming a fixed perspective. Different sexual orientations can often give people new perspectives, and thus, these emotional experiences and Foucault’s rich and bold rational thinking, combined with his own academic literacy, brought up the foundation of his ideological system.

As a result, the meaning of queer culture is to provide a fresh perspective for humanity to think, feel and experience the world, which offers us a chance to investigate ourselves and experience life from a new angle. This may not relate only to emotional feelings, but also an inspiring direction in rational thinking. The new awareness towards history and knowledge, social and sexual itself which expanded in Foucault’s theory also reflected this point.