吴伟:《春风沉醉的夜晚》打动人心的是“真挚”的酷儿

吴伟:《春风沉醉的夜晚》打动人心的是“真挚”的酷儿

作为文艺青年,你可能会非常熟悉娄烨和《春风沉醉的夜晚》这两个名字。本届上海酷儿影展请来了《春风》一片的演员兼现场编剧——吴伟,听他讲述拍摄《春风沉醉的夜晚》时的故事,聊一聊酷儿电影。吴伟(以下简称W)告诉我们,《春风》的真挚和纪实感令它脱颖而出,而“真实”、“诚实”地讲述酷儿故事,同时不把“酷儿”当作噱头,这样有酷儿元素的影片才会好看。


 

2009年娄烨导演的《春风沉醉的夜晚》入围戛纳的主竞赛单元并且最终拿到最佳编剧奖,这是中国电影在三大影展上第一次拿最佳编剧奖。您以演员和现场编剧的双重身份和娄导合作,能说说当时你们的合作情况吗? 如发生过什么让您印象深刻的事?

我第一次出演电影就是扮演一个同志角色,这部电影同样是娄烨导演第一次触碰同志题材。这对我们都有很特别的意义。当时导演正处于禁拍期,在拍摄时他有意识地采取偷拍的方式,对演员也放任自由。所以当时我感觉自己就像在南京生活、恋爱一样,有时候完全忘记是在拍电影。

 

时隔近十年,您现在怎样看待《春风》这部作品?

现在回想正是当时那种纪录片式的拍摄方式,让所有主创始终保持着一种真挚的创作态度,也让影片最终呈现出一种强烈的纪实感,我想这也是当时它能在戛纳打动评委的主要原因。

 

为什么您最近离开生活多年的北京,在上海创立自己的影视工作室?对于这一点您是如何考虑的?对于现在的电影业,尤其是中国的电影行业,您是如何看待和认知的?

电影属于文化产业。我想借李银河老师的说法:以前大家都太看重“产业”两个字,忽视了文化。文化需要创意创新,需要自由的表达为前提。中国电影业的最大瓶颈是因为制度问题消磨了太多人的创作激情与才华。

 

您觉得亚洲的酷儿电影与世界其他地区的酷儿电影的差异和区别有哪些?

我看过的亚洲酷儿电影多来自华语地区,或是东南亚国家,我感觉这些地区的酷儿电影比较关注个人性取向与家庭、及主流社会之间的矛盾、冲突,及性别身份的社会困境。而欧美的酷儿电影则关注人物自身的欲望、自我价值的实现中的矛盾与困惑。

 

您当初答应成为上海酷儿影展评委,是看到了本影展怎样的潜力和可能性?对于其在世界舞台上的后续发展有何建议?

因为我也了影展早期的一些策划会议,我知道影展的组织者是一群非常有激情、专业能力和责任感很强的人。我相信这个影展会成为一个非常有代表性的主题影展。
我觉得影展应该在酷儿主题的前提下,选片与评奖要更侧重电影本身。其实能感到这届组织者已经有这样的意识。所以这不是建议,只是提醒,应该坚持下去。因为只有这样才能让“电影人”去认可这个影展,其次才是酷儿人群。也更容易将“酷儿文化”的影响力扩展到非“酷儿”人群。另外,也建议在有条件的情况下增设类似“观众选择奖”,以区别普通观众与专业评审的口味。

 

您个人有否喜欢的亚洲酷儿短片或电影,尤其是中国作者的作品?请给我们推荐。

短片看的很少,长片中这几年印象比较深刻的是台湾地区的电影《醉· 生梦死》,还有韩国电影《道熙呀》。

 

目前中国“官方”对LGBTQIA群体态度不太明朗,这种情况下您认为中国的酷儿电影应该朝哪个方向做出努力,或说对他们有何期待?

首先,我还不确定什么是“中国酷儿电影”,但它肯定不是一种类型片或流派。我认为可能只存在一些具备酷儿元素的“中国电影”,而且数量很少。这的确跟官方的态度有关,同时这也反映了传统的大众娱乐对“酷儿”的态度。但这并不能代表年轻观众,因为在网络文化中,“酷儿”已经成为一种非常必要的吸引眼球的元素,比如在网络文学中它早已经成为一种文学类型,近几年“酷儿”网络剧成为爆款,甚至在艺人的宣传炒作中,“酷儿”元素也变成一种常用的催化剂……这种种迹象都表明“酷儿电影”其实是有广阔的发展空间的。但官方的态度会最直接地影响到融资以及发行,这就让创作者不得不以一种“狡猾”或“圆滑”的态度去处理“酷儿”元素,去打擦边球。如果在这样的态度下出现的作品,我不会抱任何期待。
至于努力的方向,我真不知道,但如果你想创作一部“酷儿电影”,你首先应该学会的是以一种诚实的态度去创作,不要只把“酷儿”当成一种博取眼球的“元素”。

Wu Wei: Spring Fever is touching for its “genuine” queerness

Wu Wei: Spring Fever is touching for its “genuine” queerness

“If you really want to make queer films, you should learn to create genuinely.” When it comes to queer arthouse cinema in China, you’d be hard pressed to find a better film from the past 10 years than Lou Ye’s Spring Fever. Wu Wei, the film’s actor and screenwriter, joins Shanghai Queer film Festival this year as a judge on our short film competition panel. We spoke to him about his experiences working on Spring Fever, and invited him to share his thoughts on queer cinema.


 

2Director Lou Ye’s Spring Fever was nominated for Cannes main competition and won the Best Screenwriter Award. It was the first time that Chinese films won this prize among the three biggest film festivals. As both the actor and live screenwriter, and working closely with director Lou Ye, would you love to talk about your coorportion? For instance, what impressed you most during the shooting process?

My first film experience is to play a gay character. Similarly, this film is also Lou’s first time to touch upon gay topics. It is very meaningful to both of us. Lou was at his period when he was forbidden to shoot films, and thus he consciously did some candid and secret shooting, and didn’t interfere the actors. Therefore, during that period of time, I felt that I was living and getting into a relationship in Nanjing, and sometimes I totally forgot I was acting a film.

 

As it’s almost been ten years, how do you see the film Spring Fever right now?

It was that kind of documentary way of shooting that made every one of the team kept a genuine and sincere attitude, and made the film present audiences with a strong sense of “on-the-spot record”. I think this is also why the film moved the judges.

 

Why did you leave Beijing, the city where you have lived for many years, and started your studio in Shanghai recently? What’s your plan and consideration? Especially regarding Chinese film industry, do you have anything to say and share?

Film belongs to cultural industry. I want to quote Mrs. Li Yinhe that, people paid too much attention on the word “industry”, but neglected the “culture”. Culture needs innovative ideas, whose condition is free expression. Chinese film industry’s biggest problem is that too much rules and policities killed people’s passion and talent.

 

What do you think is the main difference between Asian queer films and those in other regions in the world?

Most of the Asian queer films are from China or southeastern countries. I feel like queer films in these areas focus more on conflicts between one’s sex orientation and his/her family and the mainstream society, and also social dilemmas of distinct gender identities. On the other hand, Western queer films focus more on characters’ own desires, and the confusions on their way to achieve their own values.

 

You have agreed to be a judge for SHQFF. What kind of potential do you see in this film festival? How would you suggest SHQFF further develop its presence on the world stage?

I participated in some planning meetings of the film festival in early stages. I therefore know that the organizers of the film festival are a group of passionate, profesional and very responsible people. I believe this film festival will become a very iconic festival.

On the other hand, I think that under the condition of the “queer” theme, the film festival should focus more on films themselves when choosing films and awarding prizes. And I feel that the organizers feel the same way as well. Therefore, this is not a suggestion, but a reminder that it’s something you should keep and insist. Only by that, filmmakers will be willing to identify with the film festival, and then the queer community will be able to identify with you as well. This will also make “queer culture” to spread out to more non-queer communities easier. In addition, I also suggest that you can set up a “audience award prize” if possible, to differenciate films that audeinces like and films that judges like.

 

Do you personally have any favourite Asian queer short films or films, especially films that made by Chinese filmmakers? If so, please recommend us some.

I don’t watch short movies very often. As for longer ones, one of the most impressive ones are Thanatos, Drunk from Taiwan, and a Korean film called Doheeya.

 

So far, Chinese officials show an unclear attitude towards LGBTQIA communities. Under this circumstance, what do you think Chinese queer films should work on, and what kind of expectations do you have on them?

First, I’m not sure what’s “Chinese queer film”, but I’m sure that it’s not a genre. I think maybe there’s only very few Chinese films which have queer elements. Indeed, it has something to do with the official, but at the same time this indicates traditional public entertainments’ attitude towards “queer”. Nevertheless, this can’t represent young people. On the internet, “queer” has already been a kind of essential element to attract people. For instance, “queer” has already become a literal genre among online literature; “queer” streaming dramas also became a great hit, and queer elements even became an important part when celebrities do self promotions. All these clues show that “queer films” actually have a very large development space. However, the official’s attitude will directly affect fundraising and publication, which leads to the fact that filmmakers have to use a “tricky” or a “smooth” attitude to deal with the “queer” elements in the films. And as for films produced uder this kind of circumstance, I won’t have any expectations.

As for what we should do or try to do, I have no idea, to be honest. But if you really want to make a queer film, you should learn to create genuinely. Don’t use “queer” as an eye-catchy element.