张永宁:《蓝宇》贵在“平常”

张永宁:《蓝宇》贵在“平常”

本届上海酷儿影展(SHQFF)的评委之一张永宁是一位影视制作人、导演、演员。他是电影《蓝宇》制片。2001年该片获台湾金马奖最佳导演,最佳男主角等五项大奖;香港金紫荆奖最佳华语片;印度新德里国际电影节最佳影片奖。这次,上海酷儿影展与张永宁聊了聊经过了这十六七年,他如何反观《蓝宇》这部大获好评的电影,再谈一谈他正在策划的电影,以及对于中国电影业现状的思考。


 

您当初答应成为上海酷儿影展评委,是看到了本影展怎样的潜力和可能性?对于其在世界舞台上的后续发展有何建议?

我希望能尽己所能为酷儿电影的正常化、合法化做一点努力,希望看到我们的酷儿电影能够好好讲述同志们的故事,而不是停留在“裸”或床上那点事情上。让观众们从电影中得到享受和感受。而不是抱着一种猎奇之心看电影。

 

您个人有否喜欢的亚洲酷儿短片或电影,尤其是中国作者的作品?请给我们推荐。

我很喜欢范坡坡拍摄的酷儿纪录片,因为他是带着追求和责任去拍这些电影的。

 

您《蓝宇》从2001年到现在一转眼已经过去十六七年了,它最大的成功在于它不仅仅针对同志观众,而是让这样一个同性间的爱情故事打动了更广大的异性恋观众群,尤其在近二十年前的中国,时隔着么久,您现在如何看当年您的这个制片作品?

我觉得《蓝宇》之所以在这十几年的时间继续被观众津津乐道,主要是电影用了正常的情感讲述了蓝宇和悍东之间感情的发展,没有牵强或不自然。这个感情的发展过程合乎情理,让我相信,让人感动。这就是为什么《蓝宇》可以让很多不同类型的人所接受和喜欢吧。另外就是两位演员除了他们精彩的表演吸引了各种观众外,还避免了当人们一想起同志时,脑海里所出现的那种固定的样子 – “不男不女的娘炮”,而胡军和刘烨两位演员在观众眼里可以是大家的兄弟、同学、同事、邻居、路人等等,而没有刻意的写在脸上。另外这样的爱情并没有与男女之间的爱情有什么另类或让人们觉得可怕。

 

因为该片是同志题材,您还记得您在整个制片过程中,当时的社会环境对同志议题的认知等对您做这个片子有些什么样的阻力或遇到过哪些有意思的事情吗?

还好吧,由于操作有序,剧组里的每一位成员都是用心用情做好各自的工作,拍摄基本上是顺利的。最大的遗憾的就是该片无法在国内影院上映。

 

听闻您正在筹备自己的下一部剧情长片,方便讲讲这方面的情况吗?

佛陀教导说“人类的痛苦源于欲望或贪婪,如果你要摆脱痛苦,你就必须摆脱欲望。”

我正在策划的电影《白梦》是有关两个原本完全不可能相识的男人最终成为朋友的故事。一位是典型的都市“高富帅”,突然的失明将其带进了一场噩梦之中。另一位是生长在农村又独闯都市的“屌丝男”,巧遇失明的白洋后做起了美梦。

他们俩之间的故事让人们看到了现代生活中除了金钱和物品外,还有一些人们生活的必需品 – 理解、了解、尊重、不带色镜看人……最后他们都笑了。
《白梦》被认为是太文艺,不商业,我其实真的不是很理解文艺片和商业片之间有什么具体的标准,所以遇到了筹集资金上的困难,不知道如何办。

 

这些年您一直旅居英国,制作了众多电视纪录片,对于现在的电影业,尤其是中国的电影行业,您是如何看待和认知的?

跟风、求大、求快、求一夜成名是中国电影当今最大的问题,也是影响中国电影质量的困局。所谓大票房等,很多其实都是被人为做成的,不真实,而且会毁了电影业的。用心和用情做电影才有可能做好。国内院线必须改变现有的独大,旱涝保收的经营方式,提供让不同类型的观众有选择观影的机会。

 

您觉得亚洲的酷儿电影与世界其他地区的酷儿电影的差异和区别有哪些?

酷儿这个词本身就是有争议的词。酷儿的意思是“古怪的、与通常的不同的”。一直以来是反同者用来嘲笑同性恋者带有贬义的称呼。

从1980年代开始,这个词开始在同性恋族群中被广泛的接受。“I’m a Queer, I am what I am, so what”。上个世纪七十年代开始,在各方不断的努力和争取下,欧美一些国家陆续将同性恋从病态以及犯罪范围内剔除,同志们开始从地下慢慢的走向地上,1989年丹麦作为世界上第一个国家将同性婚姻合法化, 当今大多数欧美国家业已将同性婚姻合法化,随之而来的就是在这些多元社会里酷儿不再是“古怪的”、“与通常的不同的”,酷儿只是人类爱的另一种表现而被广大社会所接受和认同。既然同性恋是爱的表现,欧美的酷儿电影在讲故事的时候就不再需要躲躲闪闪,可以正常的讲述一个爱情故事。但在亚洲就很不同了,不少国家或地区还在不同程度上将同性恋列为病态或犯罪,或“性变态”,导致了酷儿电影只能以地下等形式出现或存在。在讲故事的时候,自然就不能够正常的叙述,特别是在故事情节上需要挑挑拣拣,以避开审查或造成所谓的与文化、宗教、传统等发生冲突。

 

目前中国“官方”对LGBTQIA群体态度不太明朗,这种情况下您认为中国的酷儿影人应该朝哪个方向做出努力,或说对他们有何期待?

只要我们的电影人能够始终记着和坚信“人人都有爱的权利”这个常识,就有可能讲好故事,就能给观众带来视觉和听觉上的享受,这是电影人的职责。

Zhang Yongning: How Lan Yu Gave Gay Love Mainstream Appeal

Zhang Yongning: How Lan Yu Gave Gay Love Mainstream Appeal

Zhang Yongning, producer of the film Lan Yu, joins Shanghai Queer Film Festival’s film jury this year. He is a producer, director and actor.

Lan Yu won Best Director and Best Actor at the 2001 Taiwan Golden Horse Awards, Best Chinese Film at the Golden Bauhinia Awards (Hong Kong) and Best Film at India International Film Festival in New Delhi. It is a classic of Chinese queer cinema.

Xhang Yongning shares his thoughts on Lan Yu, 16 years after its release, on his current projects and on the evolution of Chinese queer cinema.


What are your thoughts on Shanghai Queer Film Festival? Do you have any suggestions for SHQFF’s further developments on the world stage?

I hope that I can contribute to queer films’ normalization and legalization. I hope our queer films can portray good LGBT stories, but not just “naked” or sexual things. Let audiences enjoy and feel the films, but not see them only out of curiosity.

 

Do you personally have any favorite Asian queer films, especially ones produced by Chinese filmmakers? If so, please recommend us some good ones!

I like Fan Popo’s queer documentaries, because he makes these films with his pursuits and responsibilities.

 

Lan Yu was released in 2001, and is still popular sixteen years later. Its biggest success is that it is accessible as a love story for both gay and straight audiences. After all this time, how do you feel about the film?

I think the reason why Lan Yu has always been discussed by various audiences in the past decade is that the film portrays Lan Yu and Han Dong’s relationship as real, not unnatural. The development of their relationship is so reasonable that it convinces and moves our audiences. Perhaps that’s why Lan Yu can be accepted and liked by different people. Another reason is that the two actors in the film not only acted very well, but also used their amazing performances to break people’s stereotype of gay men as “sissy”. From the audiences’ perspective, Hu Jun and Liu Ye, the two actors could be anyone’s brothers, classmates, colleagues, neighbors, pass-byers, etc., and they don’t label themselves as anyone. In addition, this kind of love doesn’t have any difference with the love between straight people. It isnt scary.

 

As the film is about LGBTQ, do you recall anything interesting or anything difficult regarding how social recognition towards LGBT and the social environment influence the production process?

Not so much. As we kept everything in order, and every member in the production crew treated their work with their heart, the whole filming and production process went pretty well. Our biggest regret is that the film couldn’t be played in Chinese cinemas.

 

You are preparing for your next feature film. Would you mind tell us about it?

The Buddha says, “People’s pain starts from greed, and thus if you want to get rid of the pain, get rid of your greed first.”

I’m currently working on a new film called White Dream. It is a story about how two men from different walks of life eventually became friends. One is a typical, handsome, rich man from the big city who goes blind. The other is a poor man from a small village. Their paths cross and their lives change.

Their story is about realising there is more to lice than money amd material possessions. Understanding, respect and equality…the story ends with them being happier.

White Dream is considered too arthouse and not commercial. I actually have no idea what’s the benchmark for art films or commercial films. As a result, I have some difficulty when it comes to getting funded, and I’m still figuring out how to do with it.

 

You’ve been based in the UK recently, and have made a lot of television documentaries. How do you see the film industry, especially the industry in China?

Copycat. There’s too much focus on speed and scale. The makers think they’ll become famous overnight. These are all the biggest problems that current Chinese films face, and also the dilemma that affects the quality of Chinese films. The so-called high box offices are mostly achieved by their people, not real people, and will destroy the film industry sooner or later. Only films that are made with emotion and heart can be good films. Chinese cinema has to change the dominant attitudes, stop operating on the premise that they can always make money no matter when, and offer audiences more choice.

 

What do you think is the difference between queer films in Asia and in other parts of the world?

“Queer” is a controversial word. “Queer” means “odd, unusual”. It has long been a pejorative term that heterosexuals use to mock homosexuals. The word “queer” started to be accepted in homosexual communities in the 1980s. “I’m a Queer, I am what I am, so what”. In the 1970s, through the efforts of various groups, some Western countries began decriminalizing homosexuality, and homosexuals began to move from the underground and to public. In 1989, Denmark became the first country to legalize same-sex marriage. Today, a significant number countries have legalized same-sex marriage, and “queer” no longer implies gay people are odd or unusual. Their’s is another kind of human love, and is being accepted by this multi-cultural society. Since homosexuality is seen as a kind of love, western queer films don’t avoid such topics anymore, but portray them as a normal love story. However, in Asia, many countries or regions still see homosexuals as abnormal, a kind of crime, or even “sexual perversion”, and thus queer films can only exist as an underground culture. When these films tell stories, they can’t narrate naturally, especially when it comes to the plots, directors have to pick only appropriate parts in order to avoid censorship and potential conflicts with so-called culture, religion and traditions.

 

Official guidelines in China towards the LGBTQ community are at times unclear. Given this, in which direction do you think Chinese queer filmmakers should steer their efforts? What are your expectations for them?

As long as our filmmakers can always remember and believe that “everyone has the right to love”, we can tell good stories of great quality. This is the duty of all filmmakers.