郭恒奇:成为“少数派”是自己的选择,不需要抱怨,也不值得标榜

郭恒奇:成为“少数派”是自己的选择,不需要抱怨,也不值得标榜

本届上海酷儿影展(SHQFF)短片竞赛单元的评委之一郭恒奇是一位纪录片导演和剪辑师。其导演作品有《庙》《新堡》,获得了第15届釜山国际电影最佳纪录片奖。他还曾担任《原油》《小荷》《缺失》等多部电影的剪辑师。郭恒奇导演(对于SHQFF专访提问的回答言简意赅,彻头彻尾透着一股“酷”劲,他的答案让我们知道,诸如“酷儿”、“少数派”之类的标签,不应成为贬抑或标榜一部影片的理由,更无需用这些标签去贬低他者或抬高自己;别人的指示不一定适合你的道路,不如走好自己的路。


您当初答应成为上海酷儿影展评委,是看到了本影展怎样的潜力和可能性?

对于参与此次上海酷儿影展,主要是出于对朋友的支持和对酷儿电影的支持。从推动电影文化的多元性上来说,此次影展的出现是一件值得称道的事情。希望上海酷儿影展的举办能让大家对LGBTQIA群体从侧面有一个了解、有一个宽容的态度。

 

目前中国“官方”对LGBTQIA群体态度不太明朗,这种情况下您认为中国的酷儿影人应该朝哪个方向做出努力,或说对他们有何期待?

我个人认为相对于官方的态度来说,更重要的是应该是大众的态度。因为在LGBTQIA的生活、工作和社交活动当中,大众的态度带来的影响会更多一些。因此我们需要让大家有一个了解LGBTQIA群体的过程,而在此过程当中,电影应该是众多方式中有效的一种。

 

您觉得亚洲的酷儿电影与世界其他地区的酷儿电影的差异和区别有哪些?

我对酷儿电影以及相关的影展知之甚少。以前我知道的只有北京酷儿影展、都灵同志影展,但都是略有耳闻,并无深入了解,所以对于其间的差异不好做评价。

 

您个人有否喜欢的亚洲酷儿短片或电影,尤其是中国作者的作品?请给我们推荐。

我在观影时基本上只关注电影本身,对于它的其他属性,并不是十分留意。所以关于酷儿电影,我只想到了《春光乍泄》和《断背山》等这几部大家都熟知的电影。《蓝宇》和《东宫西宫》很早以前看过,印像都有些模糊了。所以暂时还没什么可以推荐,相信看完这次影展的片子就会有。

 

上海酷儿影展致力于一定程度上提升性取向“少数派”和多元文化的公众意识,推动其发展,而在今天的中国电影产业里,坚持电影艺术诉求的电影作者其实也是“少数派”,您认为在当下的语境中,“少数派”会何去何从?

不论是电影还是其他的创作形式,如果我们坚持自我的诉求,那我们在此之前就应该明白,我们肯定是少数派。这个不需要抱怨,也不值得标榜,这是我们自己的选择。

 

其实您本身也可以说是有自己坚持和追求的、电影行业中的“少数派”,对于那些新晋的并有着自己独特追求的电影人,您有哪些建议?

对于电影行业的新进者,我不敢有建议。首先我不是一个成功者,目前的我仍未能解决坚持自我与现实之间的矛盾。其次,没有一条道路是可以重复的,他者的建议不一定适舍坚持自我者。

Guo Hengqi: Becoming a “minority” is a choice that doesn’t merit complaint or praise

Guo Hengqi: Becoming a “minority” is a choice that doesn’t merit complaint or praise

Guo Hengqi, one of the judges of the Shanghai Queer Film Festival (SHQFF) Short Film Competition Unit, is a documentary director and editor. His films include The Temple and New Castle, which won the 15th Pusan International Film Festival BIFF Mecenat Award. He also served as a film editor for A Journal of Crude Oil, Lotus, The Missing, and many other films. When approached by SHQFF, Director Guo responded to our interview in a concise yet comprehensive way, revealing his cool personality throughout. His answers inform us that labels such as “queer” or “minority” should not be a reason to criticize or praise a movie, also arguing that neither should we use these labels to depreciate others or boost ourselves. Instructions from others may not fit your path, so why not go on your own way?


You had promised to be a judge for the Shanghai Queer Film Festival. What kind of potential and possibilities do you see in this film festival?

I wish to participate in Shanghai Queer Film Festival mainly to support my friends as well as queer films. From the perspective of promoting the diversity of film culture, this film festival is a thing worthy of commendation. I hope that everyone can develop a deeper understanding and a more tolerant attitude toward LGBTQIA groups because of Shanghai Queer Film Festival.

 

Currently, China’s “official” attitude towards LGBTQIA people is not very clear. Under these circumstances, in which direction you think queer filmmakers should steer their efforts? What are your expectations for them?

Personally, I think that the public attitude matters more than the official attitude towards LGBTQIA life, work and social activities. Public attitudes will be more influential, so we need a process of informing everyone about LGBTQIA people. In this endeavor, along with various other methods, film should be an effective platform.

 

In your opinion, what’s the difference between the queer films in Asia and those in the rest of the world?

I know little about queer films or related film festivals. Originally, I only knew the Beijing Queer Film Festival and Torino Gay and Lesbian Film Festival, but I had only heard of them and did not have a deep understanding. Thus, it is hard for me to comment on the differences between them.

 

Do you have any Asian queer movies or short films you like, especially works by Chinese directors? If so, please recommend them to us.

Basically, I only concerned about the film itself when I am watching it. I do not care much about its other properties. Therefore, on the topic of queer films, I could recommend well-known films like Brokeback Mountain and Happy Together. I watched Lan Yu and East Palace West Palace long ago and have only a vague impression of them. So I don’t have any recommendations for now, but I do believe I will have some after I watch this festival’s selection.

 

Shanghai Queer Film Festival is dedicated to raising public awareness on sexual orientation of “minorities” and multi-culturalism to a certain extent to promote its development. In today’s Chinese film industry, those who adhere to the appeal of a film’s artistic quality is actually the “minority “. Where do you think the” minority ” would go in the current context?

Whether it is film or another medium, if we insist on appealing to ourselves, then we should know before that we must be a minority. Becoming a “minority” is a choice that doesn’t merit complaint or praise.

 

In fact, you yourself could be called the “minority “ in the film industry, as you have your standards and pursuis. For those filmmakers who are fresh and have their own unique pursuit, do you have any recommendations?

For newcomers to the film industry, I do not dare make recommendations. First of all, I am not a winner; up till now, I still get stuck in the contradiction between self and reality. Secondly, no one’s road can be repeated, and so recommendations from others do not necessarily fit those who adhere to the themselves.