70年历史的戛纳电影节上竟有一个只有7年历史的酷儿棕榈奖

70年历史的戛纳电影节上竟有一个只有7年历史的酷儿棕榈奖

5月28日,2017戛纳电影节于法国戛纳落下帷幕。

今天我们想和你重新聊聊这场电影节。不过,不是这个有70年渊源的戛纳,而是这场电影节中只有7年历史的“酷儿棕榈奖”(Queer Palm)。

这个奖项为何而建?为何又如此姗姗来迟?你可知《卡罗尔》、《阿黛尔的生活》、《双面劳伦斯》…… 这些为人熟知的电影实则都曾都酷儿棕榈的宠儿?

上海酷儿影展今年戛纳影展期间还邀请到了三位专业影评人,和你聊聊他们眼中的酷儿电影。


柏林电影节的泰迪熊奖成立于1987年,威尼斯电影节的酷儿狮奖诞生于2007年,而戛纳电影节的酷儿棕榈奖则是2010年。这三个奖项独立于电影节本身之外,与电影节同时进行,但并非官方单元。

关于近期刚结束仍让人意犹未尽的戛纳电影节,我们想和你聊聊关于它的特殊单元——酷儿棕榈奖。

 

其一,其实戛纳电影节是一个假装自己是左派的右派分子。至今,在柏林电影节泰迪熊奖的官网上,依然可以看到“不仅具有文化上的重要性,而且具有政治意义与责任”如此的介绍性文字。柏林电影节的“左”在电影节的制度上也能窥见一斑。柏林电影节与威尼斯电影节的媒体证件不设等级,而戛纳电影节,无论是电影市场的证件还是媒体证件,都等级森严、经络分明。所以,戛纳电影节这样一个右派电影节上的酷儿电影奖项,姗姗来迟也是有依可循的。

 

 

其二,和其他两个电影节的酷儿奖项一样,酷儿棕榈奖也不是官方单元。不仅没有官方资助,同时这些奖项在开始之前,并没有权力像官方电影节选片人那样观看入围影片。这就造成了一个很大的问题,入围的电影最后发现并不是酷儿影片!酷儿棕榈奖的入围长片从戛纳电影节主竞赛单元、“一种关注“单元、特别展映单元,导演双周单元、影评人周单元以及独立电影发行协会单元的入围影片中挑选,短片电影从短片竞赛和短片角中挑选。虽说是挑选,但事实上却是任何看上去似乎和酷儿有关的影片都会被入围。所以连续两年,酷儿棕榈奖中都可以看到颇具女性主义意味但不能称作是酷儿影片的作品,比如2016年的《水瓶座》(Aquarius)和今年的《马琳娜的杀戮四段式》(Marlina the Murderer in Four Acts)。

 

 

并非官方的身份同样也意味着,身为评审的那些人也不是具有优先看片权的人。酷儿金棕榈的评审大多为影评人和其他酷儿影展的官方组织人员。这个信息非常重要,因为它意味着,参与编辑这篇微信文的某位或某几位上海酷儿影展的同僚,可能某天也能去评选酷儿金棕榈。

今年入围酷儿金棕榈的几部影片,除了上述的《马琳娜的杀戮四段式》,还有变性人题材的《科比》(Coby)和《他们》(They),涉及变装元素的《我们疯狂的年代》(Nos années folles)和《无无坞》(Nothingwood),导演是酷儿但影片本身并不很酷儿的《派对上如何搭讪女孩》(How to Talk to Girls at Parties),以及最后拿到评审团大奖、今年评审团主席阿莫多瓦心中的金棕榈《每分钟120击》(120 battements par minutes)。

 

 

在这些入围影片中,《我们疯狂的年代》涉及到了直男安德列·泰西内(André Téchiné)的变装爱好。但阿富汗影片《无无坞》可能就复杂一点了。其中的一个角色是当地有名的女装男演员,他的同性恋身份似乎是阿富汗语境下不言而喻的事实,而我们只是看到了他显而易见的女性化而已。展映单元的《派对上如何搭讪女孩》虽然有许多酷儿的隐喻,但本身并不算太酷儿。这些影片中只有《每分钟120击》是主竞赛单元的影片,这也就意味着,在主竞赛的19部入围影片中,只有一部是酷儿电影。有趣的是,往往就是这一部电影可以引起诸多话题,比如2013年的《阿黛尔的生活》(La vie d’Adèle)和2015年的《卡罗尔》(Carol)。

The Queer Palm Award has been long in coming

The Queer Palm Award has been long in coming

The 2017 Cannes Film Festival concluded on the 28th of May in Cannes, France.

 

Today, we would like to talk with you again about this film festival. Instead of the 70the anniversary of Cannes, we will talk about the film festival’s Queer Palm Award, which has only enjoyed seven years of history..

 

Why is this award created? Why did it take so long for its inception to take place? Did you know some well-known films such as CarolLa vie d’Adèle, and Laurence Anyways were once the favorites of the Queer Palm? 

 

At this year’s Cannes, Shanghai Queer Film Festival invited three professional film critics to discuss their own thoughts on queer films.


Berlin International Film Festival’s Teddy Award was founded in 1987; Venice Film Festival’s Queer Lion was awarded from 2007 and Cannes Film Festival’s Queer Palm Award was founded in 2010. As unofficial units, these three awards are presented respectively during those film festivals and independent from them.

 

About the recent hit Cannes Film Festival, we would like to talk with you in regard to its special unit, Queer Palm.

 

First, the Cannes Film Festival is pretending to be a ‘left’ rightist. On the official website of Berlin’s Teddy Award, we still can see the introduction such as “The TEDDY AWARD has with this not only cultural importance…also carries a political significance and responsibility”. In addition, the ‘left’ feature of Berlin International Film Festival’s can be seen through its film festival system. In Berlin International Film Festival and Venice Film Festival, no ranks of Press IDs are set. Nevertheless, in Cannes Film Festival, no matter market badges or press badges are strictly stratified and distinguished. Consequently, the late appearance of queer award on such a right-wing film festival as Cannes Film Festival is seemingly backed up by evidence.

 

 

Secondly, along with the other two internatioanl queer awards, the Queer Palm is not an official unit.On the one hand, it is not an officially sponsored prize; on the other hand, they have no chances to be watched as other entered films by the members of the official film selection committee before the award, which cause the problem that sometimes nominated films turn out to be non queer-related films. Nominated feature films of Queer Palm glean from among those films entered under the Cannes Film Festival’s Competition, A Certain Regard, Special Screenings, The Directors’ Fortnight, International Critics’ Week and ACID section. Meanwhile, nominated short films are choosen from the films entered under Short Films and Short Film Corner. Although they are selected from various sections, in fact, any films seemingly associated with queer can be shortlisted. As a result, in the last two Cannes Film Festivals, there can be seen films that contain feminism yet can not be called as queer film, for instance, Aquarius in 2016 and Marlina the Murderer in Four Acts this year.

 

 

An unofficial identity also means that juries are not prioritized to watch those films. Most of the juries are movie critics and official organization personnels of other queer film festivals. This information is important since it signifies that someone who is editing this article and some colleagues of Shanghai Queer Film Festival may be one of the juries of the Queer Palm Award.

 

Except the above-mentioned Marlina the Murderer in Four Acts, other Queer Palm nominations of this year include transgender themed Coby and They, drag themed Nos années folles and Nothingwood, non queer-related How to Talk to Girls at Parties, directed by a queer director and the 2017 Grand Prix’s winner 120 battements par minutes, which is the Golden Palm in the President of Jury Pedro Almodovar’s mind.

 

 

Among those nominated films, Nos années folles concerns a straight guy André Téchiné’s crossdress habit. Afghan film Nothingwood may be a bit more complicated than this. One of the characters is the local famous female impersonator and his gay identity seems to be a self-evident fact in Afghan context. We just see his obvious aspect of femininity. In spite of the metaphor of queer, How to Talk to Girls at Parties itself in the screening section is not really queer-related. Among those films, only 120 battements par minutes is nominated in the main competition section, which means there is only one queer film within 19 nominated films in the main competition section. Interestingly, it happens frequently that one film can bring heated topics, for example, La vie d’Adèle in 2013 and Carol in 2015.