发展变化是不可阻挡的

发展变化是不可阻挡的
本届上海酷儿影展(SHQFF)短片竞赛单元的评委之一石头是一位艺术家,主要从事绘画、摄影影像、纪录片及LGBTQI社运等工作,她也是中国酷儿独立影像小组CQIF联合负责人。同时,她还是李玉导演的第一部剧情片《今年夏天》的主演,该片被誉为中国大陆第一部女同电影,曾获2001年威尼斯国际电影节“艾尔维拉·娜塔瑞奖”。

本次专访中,石头(以下简称S)谈到了她与《今年夏天》结缘的过程,还总结了20年来中国社会针对同志议题的认知、变化和发展。她用实例告诉大家:丰富的人生要靠自我追求,体制上的贫瘠并不构成阻挡我们前进的理由。

 

您当初答应成为上海酷儿影展评委,是看到了本影展怎样的潜力和可能性?对于其在世界舞台上的后续发展有何建议?

首先是希望有更多的影展发声,上海作为一个更开放更国际化的都市,希望可以展映更多元化的影片,这样必然会吸纳国内乃至全世界更多观众。加上近些年其他酷儿议题的活动也在上海持续发展,就让上海成为“酷都”吧!请记得要坚持与包容!

 

您觉得亚洲的酷儿电影与世界其他地区的酷儿电影的差异和区别有哪些?

从自己看过有限的影片来说,亚洲影片较多关于身份认同,其他地区太广,很难在此细说。

 

目前中国“官方”对LGBTQIA群体态度不太明朗,这种情况下您认为中国的酷儿影人应该朝哪个方向做出努力,或说对他们有何期待?

当下的中国实在是题材丰富、变化多端,纪录或表现它们,即是呈现历史。目前看来独立影像时时有新,期望酷儿影人也有所增加,并涉及更多样的性少数题材,以及在形式手法上有所突破

 

您最早是从圆明园画家村走出来的少有的女性艺术家之一,这些年您画画、拍纪录片,在国内外各种关注女性及性少数人群的活动或论坛上发声,作为女性,作为LGBTQIA人士,您如何看待这一、二十年间中国社会针对同志议题的认知、变化和发展的?

圆明园女性艺术家是比较少。从1998年前后开始,女同男同常常一起聚会、接同志热线,然后建立了第一个女同志小组、办女同杂志,那时候几乎没有一个人是可以公开同志身份的。2000年湖南卫视做了一期走进同性恋的节目,获得了3亿观众的收视率,2004年凤凰卫视采访制作了《拉拉的故事》,并把这个节目卖给了国内20多家公共电视台,增加了可见度。网络兴起后,人人都可以在网上找到资讯,也有的寻觅到了伴侣。同时各地同志小组兴起,同志议题也进入了少部分校园的课堂。还有从2001年起在北京大学开始的同志电影节,一直坚持到了今天。综合来看,方方面面都在影响大众,相对比,体制显出明显的滞后。

 

“北京爱酷电影周”(原来的“北京酷儿影展”)您是积极的参与者和推动者,您专注于推动和策划哪方面的文化活动或电影专题?

我是2009年完整地参与了一届酷儿电影节筹划,当时的放映地点在宋庄,我有负责台湾导演周美玲的影片Q&A,我们在影院周围设立了现代舞和行为表演节目,还在现象咖啡展出了我的绘画作品。那个期间,第一届酷儿艺术节也在宋庄举行。

 

2001年您主演了李玉导演的处女作《今年夏天》,该片称得上是中国大陆的首部聚焦女同题材的电影,能回顾一下当时主演这部电影的情况吗?

说来话长,我就在此快闪几段:崔子介绍我跟导演李玉还有制片认识,我们在北京电影学院附近的黄亭子酒吧见面,我答应帮她们找演员,见过我推荐的几位拉拉朋友之后,她们想让我来出演,试戏之后就这么定了。当时片子在处理两个女生的亲密戏时,我有帮导演出主意并演示。

 

您个人有否喜欢的亚洲酷儿短片或电影,尤其是中国作者的作品?请给我们推荐。

感觉每看到一个真诚用心的创作者都好珍惜,需要列个名单哈。

 

作为这么多年的社群文化的参与和推动者,对于中国同志境况的未来您怎么看?

发展变化是不可阻挡的,一直保持警醒还是蛮重要的。

Growth and change can’t be stopped

Growth and change can’t be stopped

Shitou, one of the judges for Shanghai Queer Film Festival this year, is an artist, mainly engaged in painting, photography, documentary films, LGBTQIA+ social movements and so on. She is the co-director of China Queer Independent Film Group (CQIF). She is also the protagonist of director Li Yu’s first feature film, Fish and Elephant. This film has been praised as the first lesbian-themed film in Mainland China, which won the Elvira Notari Prize at the 2001 Venice International Film Festival.

In this exclusive interview, Shitou (hereafter referred to as S) talked about her experience concerning Fish and Elephant and then summarized how people’s perspectives on LGBTQIA+ issues in China have changed and developed within the last two decades. Her practical examples tell us that a rich life depends on self-reliance, and that institutional poverty cannot be a reason to stop progress.

 

You have agreed to be a judge for SHQFF. What kind of potential do you see in this film festival? How would you suggest SHQFF further develop its presence on the world stage?

First of all, I hope there will be more film festivals to support queer films. As an more open and international city, I hope Shanghai can embrace more multicultural films. This will definitely attract more domestic and international audiences. Besides, in recent years, other queer related activities have been emerging continuously in Shanghai. Let’s make Shanghai a ‘queer city’. Please be persistent and inclusive!

 

In your opinion, what’s the difference between queer cinema in Asia and in the rest of the world?

Among the limited number of films I have watched, Asian films are more about identities. It is hard to talk about cinema elsewhere, since the concept of ‘elsewhere’ is too broad.

 

Currently, China’s ‘official’ attitude towards LGBTQIA+ people is not very clear. Under these circumstances, in which direction you think queer filmmakers should steer their efforts? What are your expectations for them?

In contemporary China, there are so many rich themes and endless changes. Either recording or performing them is presenting history. At the moment, independent portraits are always new. I expect to see more queer filmmakers, more diverse themes related to sexual minorities, and breakthroughs in forms of expression and methods.

 

In the early days, you were part of a group of non-mainstream/minority (outside of the majority) female artists at Yuanmingyuan Artists Village. During these years, you painted, made documentaries, and spoke out at worldwide activities and forums that concerned women and sexual minorities. As a woman and an LGBTQIA+ person, what do you think of how people’s perspectives on LGBTQIA+ issues in China have changed and developed within the last two decades?

At Yuanmingyuan Artists Village, there are very few female artists. Since 1998, lesbians and gays had started to gather together and operate LGBTQ hotlines, and then the first lesbian magazine publication was founded. At that time, few people came out to the public. In 2000, Hunan Television made an episode for a TV program about homosexual awareness that had an audience of 300 million people. In 2004, Phoenix Television made a TV program called A Story of Lesbian and sold it to more than 20 Chinese public television stations, which made it available to a larger audience. With the popularity of the Internet, everyone is able to find resources online as well as partners. Meanwhile, LGBTQIA+ groups from different regions have emerged and LGBTQIA+ issues have been discussed in a small amount of school classes. Furthermore, Peking University’s Beijing Queer Film Festival has been running since 2001. Comprehensively, the general public has been effected by many different sources. Relatively, the social system shows lags.

 

You are an active participant and a supporter of Love Queer Cinema Week (aka Beijing Queer Film Festival). What kinds of cultural activities and movie themes do you focus on promoting and planning?

In 2009, I was completely involved in the planning of a queer film festival. The screening location was in Songzhung and I was responsible for the Q&A session of director Zero Chou’s film screening. We also arranged modern dance performances and performance art to take place near the cinema. My paintings were exhibited at Fanhall Coffee. At that time, the first queer art festival was also held in Songzhuang.

 

In 2001, you starred in director Li Yu’s debut film, Fish and Elephant. This film can be considered the first Mainland Chinese film to broach lesbian themes. Could you please share your experience as the film’s lead?

It is a long story, so I will just share a little bit. Cui Zi introduced me to director Li Yu and the film itself. We met at Huangtingzi bar near Beijing Film Academy and I promised to find actresses for them. After meeting with some of my lesbian friends that I had recommended, they wanted to cast me after the auditions had finished. At that time, when there were intimate scenes between two girls, I gave the director suggestions and acted for them.

 

Are there any Asian queer movies or short films that you like, especially works by Chinese directors? If so, could you please give us some recommendations?

I feel that I cherish every time I meet a creator who creates with a sincere heart. I need to make a list!

 

As an participant and an supporter of community culture for so many years, what do you think of the future of LGBTQIA+ in China?

Growth and change can’t be stopped, and is quite important to be always alert.